Nebraska Parking Laws

Nebraska Parking Laws

Share
Nebraska Parking Laws

 

Quick Guide to NE Parking Laws” 

Nebraska Parking Laws

The majority of Nebraska parking law is located within Chapter 60 of the state’s revised statutes.  There are other chapters that regard NE parking laws in local jurisdictions, and the fines within these jurisdictions will vary—especially in metropolitan areas and education institutions.  Nebraska parking laws indicate that a person who has received a ticket is allowed to appeal the fine, but these appeals are often very difficult to prove.  

This article will discuss several Nebraska parking laws and information regarding paying your ticket.  For more information, regard the complete list of NE parking laws by searching within the state’s revised statutes.  

Specific Nebraska Parking Law

§60-6,166 of Nebraska parking law provides general laws for prohibited parking in the entire state.  Local jurisdictions may modify these NE parking laws to provide for more safety, but the general prohibitions under this section are listed below: 

• on the roadway side of a car parked at a curb or side of street

• on a sidewalk

• within an intersection

• on a crosswalk

• between a safety zone or 30 feet from the ends of a safety zone unless a local Nebraska parking laws states otherwise

• alongside or opposite any excavation that would obstruct traffic

• on a bridge, elevated highway, or in a tunnel

• on a railroad track

• at any place where local Nebraska parking laws prohibit parking

• in front of a public or private driveway

• within 15 feet of fire hydrant

• within 25 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection unless local Nebraska parking laws state otherwise

• within 30 feet of a flashing beacon or traffic control device

• within 25 feet of a fire station driveway or 75 feet if posted by local Nebraska parking law

• within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing (except temporarily for loading and unloading if allowed by local NE parking laws)

Handicapped Nebraska Parking Laws

§18-1737 of the NE parking laws states that any city, state agency, or any other person with lawful possession of an off-street parking facility must provide designated parking spaces for the handicapped.  According to subsection (2) of this Nebraska parking law states that if a person notifies the police or sheriff’s department, they may remove a vehicle that illegally parked in a handicapped parking space.

Penalties for breaking Nebraska parking laws by parking in a handicapped space can increase with the number of infractions, and appeals for these violations of NE parking laws are virtually impossible.  

NE Parking Laws for Paying Tickets Online

There are several ways you may be able to pay your ticket online according to Nebraska parking law.  If you have violated a Nebraska parking law, you should read the directions closely on the website before paying your ticket online: 

If you plan to appeal the ticket for violation of NE parking laws, you should never pay the ticket online because the payment is usually nonrefundable.  You may be able to pay your ticket for a violation of Nebraska parking laws through your local court, but you’ll have to locate the court’s website and see if you can pay the ticket.  

 

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Read previous post:
Oregon Parking Laws

Close