Nevada Vehicle Registration

Nevada Vehicle Registration

Share
Nevada Vehicle Registration
Nevada vehicle registration laws require all motor vehicles to be registered in order to be driven within the state. This includes cars, trucks, mopeds, motorcycles, trailers, low speed vehicles, boats, and more. Depending on the circumstances, there are different forms and requirements for NV vehicle requirements.
Nevada Vehicle Registration: Purchased from a Nevada Dealer
When purchasing a vehicle from a dealership within Nevada, the dealer usually has to take care of a lot of the initial paperwork. Dealers in Nevada must issue these documents to the buyer:
• Copies of the contract, warranty lease agreement, etc.

• A passing emissions inspection report if it is required.

• A temporary movement plate dated to expire thirty (30) days from the sale date.

• A Dealer Report of Sale.

• A drive train inspection report for vehicles with an odometer reading exceeding 75,000.
The new owner is then responsible for completing the NV registration process before the date shown on the temporary movement plate, regardless of when the Report of Sale was issued. However, some participating dealers will help you complete your NV vehicle registration online without having to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles. If this is not the case for you, you will have to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles and to complete the NV registration and bring the following documents:
• Dealers Report of Sale

• Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report if needed

• Nevada Evidence of Insurance Card

• Completed Form VP-222 Application for Vehicle Registration 
You will also have to obtain liability insurance from a carrier licensed in Nevada under the exact name that will be on the NV vehicle registration and title. Vehicle owners who do not maintain liability insurance are subject to a NV registration suspension and reinstatement fee of $250. Nevada does not accept out-of-state insurance.
Nevada Vehicle Registration: Purchased from an Out-of-State Dealer
When purchasing a vehicle from an out-of-state dealer, he or she must comply with the state laws of that dealership. Because of this, you should inquire on how the titling process will occur. After purchasing the vehicle, you have to complete the NV vehicle registration at a local Department of Motor Vehicles office before a movement permit issued expires, or up to thirty (30) days maximum. 
If the motor vehicle has never been titled in Nevada or received a NE registration, you must have a Vehicle Identification Number verification completed at the Department of Motor Vehicles. Afterwards, you can bring the following documents to the Department of Motor Vehicles to receive your NE vehicle registration:
• Bill of Sale or invoice and at least one of the following: title, security agreement, certificate of origin from the manufacturer, purchase agreement, or lease agreement

• Nevada Proof of Insurance Card

• Form VP-015, Vehicle Inspection Certificate 

• If necessary, Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report 

• Form VP-222, Application for Vehicle Registration

• Odometer Statement for vehicles up to 9 years old
Nevada Vehicle Registration: Purchased from an Out-of-State Dealer


In most circumstances, it is illegal to sell a motor vehicle on an empty lot. The Department of Motor Vehicles recommends that private party sales be done at a residence. It is also illegal to sublease a vehicle as well.
Gifts and family sales are taken care of in the same way as private party sales. These do not require any special forms. If you are purchasing from a seller, you must make sure to receive a proper title from the seller, complete VP-104, a bill of sale, for your own records, notify the DMV through the Online Vehicle Resale Notification service, and keep the license plates on the vehicle. You must register this motor vehicle with 30-days. If it has never had a NV vehicle registration, you must get a VIN validation done as well. To acquire a NV registration, you must have the following documents:
• Title to the vehicle or a security agreement 

• Nevada Emission Vehicle Inspection Report if needed 

• Nevada Proof of Insurance Card

• Vehicle Identification Number Inspection if needed

• Form VP-222 Application for Vehicle Registration
Nevada Vehicle Registration Taxes and Fees
The state of Nevada charges a Registration Fee, Governmental Services Tax and sometimes a Supplemental Governmental Services Tax. NV registration fees are based on the weight and class of the vehicle. The following are the NV vehicle registration fees applicable for different classes:
• Passenger cars regardless of weight: $33.

• Motorcycle: $33 and an additional motorcycle safety fee of $6.

• Travel trailer: $27.

• Trailer with unladen weight up to 1000 pounds: $12.

• Trailer having unladen exceeding 1000 pounds: $24.

• Golf cart: $10 annually.

• Low-speed vehicle: $33.

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Read previous post:
Kansas Vehicle Registration

Close