What is a Florida Vehicle Registration?
A Florida vehicle registration consists of a license plate, validation decal, and registration certificate. It is proof that you have paid the necessary registration fees and tax on a motor vehicle. Florida requires motor vehicles to be registered within 10 days of the owner putting children in public school, becoming employed, or establishing Florida residency.
Applying for Florida Vehicle Registration
For a Florida vehicle registration, you need valid driver’s license. Next, you must have vehicle liability insurance from an insurance company that is authorized provide insurance services in Florida in order to complete your FL vehicle registration. You will also need proof of identity, your vehicle identification number verification, original out-of-state title, your verification of physical inspection of the vehicle’s, and a completed Form HSMV 82040, the Application for Certificate of Title for FL registration. You can submit all of these things for your FL vehicle registration to a local Florida county tax collector’s office.
Basic Florida Vehicle Registration Fees
There is a twelve month FL registration period that begins the first day your birth month. Company owned vehicles automatically use the month of June. These are the current registration fees:
Florida Vehicle Registration for Automobiles (privately used)
• $46.15 annual tax and fees, $92.30 biennial tax and fees for 0-2499 pounds
• $57.15 annual tax and fees, $114.30 biennial tax and fees for 2500-3499 pounds
• $70.65 annual tax and fees, $141.30 biennial tax and fees for 3500+ pounds
Florida Vehicle Registration for Trucks (Commercial and Private)
• $46.15 annual tax and fees, $92.30 biennial tax and fees for 1999 pounds
• $57.15 annual tax and fees, $114.30 biennial tax and fees for2000-3000 pounds
• $70.65 annual tax and fees, $141.3 biennial tax and fees for 3001-5000 pounds
Additional Fees for FL Vehicle Registration
• Transferring license plates from another vehicle: $7.35
• Issuing new license plates: $28
• Initial registration fee: $225
Obtaining a License Plate for your Florida Vehicle Registration
Florida vehicle registration laws say that license plates must be replaced every 10 years. The replacement of the plates is necessary because the license plates need to be fully reflectorized in order to have full visibility for law enforcement reasons. After you receive your new Florida license plates, you can stick the necessary decals on the upper right hand corner of the license plate.
Applying for a DMV Registration Renewal
Florida will send you a notice remind you about your renewal. Renewal fees start at $46.15, but can vary depending on the type and weight of the motor vehicle along with the length of the registration. You can apply for your DMV registration renewal online through GoRenew, the state’s service for DMV registration renewals. If you bring your present FL vehicle registration or renewal notice with proof of insurance and fee payments, you can also complete your DMV registration renewal at the local county tax collector office or through the mail. If you wish to complete your DMV registration renewal by phone, you can call (866) 467-3639 (866-GO RENEW) and renew it from there.