New Hampshire Vehicle Registration: An Overview of the Process
If you’re a resident of New Hampshire and want to drive your vehicle legally, you need to register it with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). In this article, we provide a comprehensive guide to the vehicle registration process in New Hampshire.
The following vehicles require registration in New Hampshire:
– Recreational vehicles
To register your vehicle, you will need:
– Proof of ownership (title or registration certificate)
– New Hampshire driver’s license or state-issued ID
– Vehicle Registration Application
– Proof of insurance
– Payment for registration fees and taxes
Here is a step-by-step guide to registering your vehicle in New Hampshire:
1. Obtain a title for your vehicle.
If your vehicle is new or was previously titled in another state, you’ll need to obtain a New Hampshire title. You can do this by visiting a DMV office.
2. Obtain New Hampshire insurance.
New Hampshire requires minimum liability insurance of 25/50/25. You’ll need to provide proof of insurance when registering your vehicle.
3. Complete the Vehicle Registration Application.
The application is available on the DMV website or at any DMV office.
4. Submit your application and fees.
You can submit your application and fees in person at a DMV office or by mail.
5. Receive your registration and license plates.
After your application is approved, you will receive a registration sticker and license plates. Place the registration sticker on the rear license plate, and the license plates on the front and back of your vehicle.
New Hampshire registration fees vary based on the type of vehicle you own. Passenger cars and trucks with a weight of up to 3,000 pounds have a base fee of $30.00. Additional fees may apply for vehicles over specific weights and ages.
Other fees may apply, such as a municipal agent fee, administration fee, and late fees if you fail to register your vehicle within 20 days of the date you started the vehicle in New Hampshire.
Registering your vehicle in New Hampshire is a necessary step to remain compliant with state laws. By following the registration requirements outlined in this article, you can easily register your vehicle and avoid fines or penalties. Keep your registration up to date to avoid any complications while operating your vehicle.
The New Hampshire Division of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles requires that certain motor vehicles must have a New Hampshire vehicle registration in order to be operated. This includes automobiles, motorcycles, mopeds, tractors, trailers, boats, construction equipment, and farm and agricultural equipment. New Hampshire vehicle registration can be taken care of at a Division of Motor Vehicles Office or any substations. These locations are open on weekdays from 8:15AM to 4:15PM, except during state holidays.
First Time New Hampshire Vehicle Registration
There are many different reasons apply for a first time NH vehicle registration. You will need to complete the New Hampshire vehicle registration process if you have:
• Bought a vehicle
• Changed your residency to New Hampshire
• Changed the ownership on a vehicle
If you purchased a vehicle from a New Hampshire dealer, you can bring the blue town clerk’s copy of Form TDMV 23A, the Title Application, along with your proof-of-residency, to the local division of motor vehicles office in to complete the NH registration. If the motor vehicle was bought through a private sale and is already titled and is a 1995 or newer model, you must bring the assigned title, along with your proof-of-residency, to your local Division of Motor Vehicles. If the vehicle is exempt from a tile, you must submit the bill-of-sale, proof of the Vehicle Identification number, and proof of residency for your NH vehicle registration. You will also be required to submit the previously issued NH registration with the valid New Hampshire or out-of-state vehicle title or a completed Form TDMV19A.
If you moved into New Hampshire, you must also complete the NH registration. You will need to provide the out-of-state registration, proof of New Hampshire residency, the lease agreement of the vehicle is being leased, and the name and address of the lien holder if it is necessary.
IF you purchased the motor vehicle through a private sale, you must obtain a 20-day temporary license plate in order to drive the vehicle. In order to obtain one, you can apply for at the Division of Motor Vehicles or a NH registration station and submit proof of residency, identification, the seller’s address and name, proof of ownership, and a $10 fee.
In order to complete the New Hampshire vehicle registration process, you can obtain the necessary forms either by going to a Division of Motor Vehicles office in Concord, New Hampshire or you can go to any NH registration substation or a NH vehicle registration municipal agent.
New Hampshire Vehicle Registration Fees
When you complete the NH vehicle registration process at a Division of Motor Vehicles, you will be required to pay certain fees such as the title application fee and the registration fees. These vary based on the vehicle. For more information regarding New Hampshire vehicle registration fees and taxes you must contact your local town or city office. You can pay your NV registration fees using a VISA or MasterCard credit card, money order, travelers check, regular check, or in cash if you are paying in person.