Oregon Vehicle Registration: A Comprehensive Guide
If you own a vehicle in Oregon, you need to properly register it with the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) to comply with state laws. In this article, we provide a comprehensive guide to the process of registering your vehicle in Oregon.
The following vehicles require registration in Oregon:
– Passenger cars
– Recreational vehicles
To register your vehicle, you will need:
– Proof of ownership (title or registration certificate)
– Oregon driver’s license or state-issued ID
– Application for Title and Registration
– Payment for registration fees and taxes
– Proof of insurance
Here is a step-by-step guide to registering your vehicle in Oregon:
1. Obtain a title for your vehicle.
If your vehicle is new or was previously titled in another state, you’ll need to obtain an Oregon title. You can do this by visiting the DMV office.
2. Obtain Oregon insurance.
You’ll need to provide proof of insurance when registering your vehicle. Oregon requires a minimum liability insurance of 25/50/20.
3. Complete the Application for Title and Registration.
The application is available on the DMV website, at any DMV office, or at some insurance agencies.
4. Submit your application and fees.
You can submit your application and fees in person at a DMV office. You can also submit your application and fees by mail.
5. Receive your registration and license plates.
After your application is approved, you will receive a registration certificate and license plates. Place the license plates on the front and back of your vehicle.
Oregon registration fees vary based on the type of vehicle you own. Passenger cars have a base fee of $122.00 for two years. Additional fees may apply for vehicles over specific weights and ages.
Other fees may apply, such as a technology fee, a lien filing fee, and a late fee if you fail to register your vehicle within 30 days of the date you started operating the vehicle in Oregon.
Registering your vehicle in Oregon is necessary to comply with state laws. By following the registration requirements outlined in this article, you can easily register your vehicle and avoid fines or penalties. Remember to keep your registration up to date to avoid any complications while operating your vehicle, and don’t forget to renew your registration every two years.
Oregon vehicle registration rules require all vehicles to be properly registered with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles. This applies to both new and used vehicles that were purchased from dealers or private parties.
First-Time Oregon Vehicle Registration for New Vehicles
If you have purchased your new motor vehicle from an Oregon dealership, the dealer will usually submit the vehicle’s title and OR registration paperwork to Department of Motor Vehicles for you. However, if you purchased the vehicle from a private party or if you have to fill out the OR vehicle registration yourself, you must do the following:
• You need to fill out and submit Form 735-226, or the Application for Title and Registration. This form as well as its instructions are available at any Department of Motor Vehicles Branch location or online through the Department of Motor Vehicle’s website.
• Show the original Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin.
• Prove compliance with the Low Emissions Vehicle requirement, or exemption show exemption from the requirement. Motor vehicles that are to this requirement include vehicles with 2009 model year or any newer passenger vehicles that have 7,500 or less mileage. This requirement is not applicable to hybrid, electric, or government-property passenger vehicles.
• Odometer disclosure, which is usually on the back of the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or with Form 735-403, the Secure Odometer Disclosure is required for the OR registration.
• Releases of interest of the vehicle from previous owners through either the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin, Form 735-501 Bill of Sale, or Form 735-524 Lien Release
• Choose license plates if you wish to have specialty or personalized plates, which is done during the OR registration process.
• Payment for applicable fees and taxes
• Title fees
• OR vehicle Registration fees
• License Plate fees during the OR registration process.
All of these must be submitted to your local Department of Motor Vehicles in order to receive your OR vehicle registration
Submitting your Oregon Vehicle Registration Application
If you are purchasing or renewing license plates and you need a temporary permit in order to drive the motor vehicle, you can submit your completed OR registration application, supporting documents and OR vehicle registration payment to a Department of Motor Vehicles office. Alternatively, you can mail all of these to the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles at:
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Checks and money orders can be made payable to the “Oregon DMV”.
Oregon Vehicle Registration Fees
When completing the OR vehicle registration process, there are many fees that are involved. Here are the OR vehicle registration fees for different classes of vehicles:
• Light Trailers: $86 two-year fee for renewals, $172 four-year fee for new vehicles, $19 Multnomah County Fee for one-year
• Low-Speed Vehicles: $86 two-year fee for renewals, $19 Multnomah County Fee for one-year
• Motorcycle (electric or hybrid)$43 two-year fee for renewals, $19.00 Multnomah County for one-year
• Motorcycles/Mopeds: $48 two-year fee for renewals, $96 four-year fee for new vehicles, $19.00 Multnomah County fee for one-year
• Passenger (electric or hybrid-electric): $86 two-year fee for renewals, $172 four-year fee for new vehicles, $19.00 Multnomah County fee for one-year
• Passenger Vehicles: $86 two-year fee for renewals, $172 four-year fee for new vehicles, $19.00 Multnomah County fee for one-year
• Snowmobiles$10 two-year fee for renewals
It is important that Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles will only accept cash, checks, or money orders. They do not accept debit or credit cards.