When two drivers arrive at an intersection at the same time, who has the right of way?
The driver on the left must yield to the driver on the right.
What is the minimum amount of distance to allow a vehicle in front of you?
Drivers should allow vehicles in front of them to be at least 3 to 4 seconds ahead.
When is it OK to pass on the right?
Drivers may pass another vehicle on the right side if the other vehicle is about to turn left or there are no obstructions in the right lane.
How close to a railroad intersection is passing a vehicle allowed?
Drivers who are within 100 feet of a railroad intersection may not pass another vehicle, either from the left or right.
What do green road signs indicate?
Green road signs information about the distance to towns and other destinations.
What do blue road signs indicate?
Blue road signs offer information about nearby restaurants and rest stops.
What do fluorescent pink signs indicate?
Fluorescent pink signs warn of emergency traffic situations.
What shape are signs warning of school crossing zones?
School crossing zones are pentagon shaped.
What does a single broken yellow line mean?
Single broken yellow lines divide lanes on roads where traffic is coming from both directions. It is legal to pass from one lane to another.
What do rows of small triangles indicate?
Rows of small triangles painted on the road indicate you are coming to a place where you must yield to other vehicles or pedestrians.
Are drivers required to have their headlights on when it is raining?
Yes. Maryland law states that if drivers have their windshield wipers on, they must also have their headlights on.
Can drivers stop on the highway?
Drivers can only stop on the shoulder of a highway if there is an emergency or their vehicle is malfunctioning. Drivers are not allowed to stop in a lane of traffic on the highway.
Can funeral processions drive through a red light?
Funeral processions are allowed to proceed through a red light assuming the vehicles have their headlights and hazard lights turned on.
Is it legal to drive and operate a cell phone?
No. Drivers in Maryland are not allowed to use any mobile devices that require the use of their hands while driving
How far away must drivers stop from school buses?
Drivers must come no closer than 20 feet to school buses if children are exiting or entering the vehicle.
How far away should drivers stay from bicyclists?
Drivers should keep at least 3 feet away from bicyclists when passing.
Where can mopeds and scooters be driven?
Mopeds and scooters can be operated on any road where the maximum speed limit is 50 miles per hour or less.
Are drivers who are involved in an accident required to inform the police?
Yes. Regardless of whether or not another person or vehicle is damaged, the police must be contacted after any kind of traffic accident.