Arkansas Parking Laws

Arkansas Parking Laws

Share
Arkansas Parking Laws

 

Quick Guide to Arkansas Parking Law

Arkansas Parking Laws

The majority of Arkansas parking law is located within Title 27, Chapter 51 of the state’s revised code.  There are other laws that regard parking laws in local jurisdictions, and the fines within these jurisdictions will vary—especially in metropolitan areas and education institutions.  Arkansas parking laws indicate that a person who has received a ticket are allowed to appeal the fine, but these appeals are often very difficult to prove.  

This article will discuss general Arkansas parking law and information regarding paying your ticket.  For more information, regard the complete list of parking by searching within the state’s revised code.  

Specific Arkansas Parking Laws

Section 27-51-1302 of Arkansas parking law provides general laws for prohibited parking in the entire state.  Local jurisdictions may modify these state laws to provide for more safety, but the general prohibitions under this section are listed below: 

1. on a sidewalk

2. in front of public or private driveway

3. within an intersection

4. within 15 feet of a fire hydrant

5. on a crosswalk

6. within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection

7. within 30 feet of a flashing beacon, stop sign, or any traffic-control signal located at the side of a roadway

8. Between a safety zone or 30 feet from the ends of the zone

9. within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing

10. within 20 feet of fire department’s driveway or 75 feet if post by fire department

11. alongside or opposite any street excavation 

12. on the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge of a curb

13. upon a bridge or other elevated structure upon a highway or in a tunnel

14. at any place where signs prohibit

15. on the shoulders, median, ramps, or any highway rights-of-way along an interstate or fully controlled access highway except in designated parking areas

There are multiple other Arkansas parking laws.  As mentioned above, most Arkansas parking law is located in Chapter 51 of Title 17 of the revised code.  An important rule that most people fail to regard—and which causes a large number of accidents—is section 27-51-1307.  This Arkansas parking laws states the following: 

“No person shall open the door of a motor vehicle on the side available to moving traffic unless and until it is reasonably safe to do so, nor shall any person leave a door open on the side of a vehicle available to moving traffic for a period of time longer than necessary to load and unload passengers.”

Fines for Violation of Arkansas Parking Laws

If you have violated an Arkansas parking law, you can either pay your ticket at your local municipal court, or you can pay the fine online.  Arkansas parking law allows a person to pay their ticket online under the website of the Arkansas Online Court Payment.  The link to the website is provided.

 

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Read previous post:
New Mexico Parking Laws

Close