A Quick Guide to New Mexico’s Parking Laws
New Mexico Parking Laws
The majority of New Mexico’s parking laws are located within NRS §66-7-351 of the state’s revised statutes. There are other laws that regard NM parking laws in local jurisdictions, and the fines within these jurisdictions will vary—especially in metropolitan areas and education institutions. New Mexico parking laws allow any person who has received a ticket to appeal the fine, but these appeals are often very difficult to prove.
This article will discuss general NM parking laws and information regarding paying your ticket. For more information on New Mexico’s parking laws, regard the complete list of New Mexico parking laws by searching within Article 7 of Chapter 66 of the state’s revised statutes.
Specific New Mexico Parking Laws
§66-7-351 of New Mexico’s parking laws provides general provisions for prohibited parking in the entire state, and local jurisdictions may modify these NM parking laws to provide for more safety. Regardless, the general prohibitions under this section of New Mexico’s parking laws are listed below:
• one a sidewalk
• in front of a public or private driveway
• within an intersection
• within 15 feet of a fire hydrant
• on a crosswalk
• within 25 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection
• within 30 feet of a flashing beacon, stop sign or traffic-control signal
• between a safety zone or thirty feet from the ends of the safety zone unless local NM parking laws state otherwise
• within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing
• within 20 feet of a driveway entrance or 75 feet if local NM parking laws posted by the fire station state otherwise
• along or opposite any street excavation if parking would obstruct traffic
• on the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at a curb or side of the street
• upon any bridge, elevated piece of highway, or in a tunnel
• at any place where New Mexico’s parking laws and signs prohibit parking
§66-7-352 Additional laws under New Mexico’s Parking Laws
The following New Mexico parking laws posted below are paraphrased from the state legislature:
• Unless otherwise provided by New Mexico’s parking laws, every vehicle stopped or parked must have the right-hand wheels parallel to the curb within 18 inches
• local NM parking laws may allow parking on the left-hand side of a one-way street, and the 18 inch rules applies similarly
• local New Mexico parking laws may allow angled parking, and angled parking may be allowed on certain highways if the state highway commission determines there is enough room
• the state highway commission may place signs and NM parking laws on any highway it deems as dangerous to stop or park on
Can I pay my ticket online according to New Mexico’s Parking Laws?
Most counties in New Mexico will not let you pay your parking ticket online because of local NM parking laws, including Santa Fe. However, some counties may allow you to pay the ticket online for violation of New Mexico parking laws, and you’ll want to search for your specific county’s or town’s website to find out if you can pay the ticket online.