Quick Guide to Utah Parking Laws
Utah Parking Laws
The majority of Utah parking law is located within §1401, Chapter6 (a), in Title 41 of the state’s revised code. There are other laws that regard parking laws in local jurisdictions, and the fines within these jurisdictions will vary—especially in metropolitan areas and education institutions. Utah parking laws indicate that a person who has received a ticket is allowed to appeal the fine, but these appeals are often very difficult to prove.
This article will discuss general Utah parking law and information regarding paying your ticket. For more information, regard the complete list of parking laws by searching within the state’s revised code at the following link.
Specific Utah Parking Laws
§41-6a-1401 Standing or parking vehicles—Restrictions and exceptions of Utah parking law provides general laws for prohibited parking in the entire state. Local jurisdictions may modify these state laws to provide for more safety, but the general prohibitions under this section are listed below:
• on the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parking at the curb or edge of street
• on a sidewalk
• within an intersection
• on a crosswalk
• between a safety zone or 30 feet from the ends of a safety zone
• alongside or opposite any street excavation that would obstruct traffic
• on any bridge, elevated section of highway, or within a highway tunnel
• on any railroad tracks
• on a controlled-access highway
• in areas between roadways of a divided highway including crossovers
• any place where traffic-control devices prohibit parking
• in front of a public or private driveway
• within 15 feet of a fire hydrant
• with 20 feet of crosswalk
• within 30 feet of traffic signal, stop sign, or yield sign
• within 20 feet of fire station driveway or 75 feet if posted by fire department
• within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing
§41-6a-1402 of the Utah parking laws prohibits angled parking and parking on certain highways. According to this Utah parking law, a car needs to park as close as possible to a right-hand curb at least 12 inches or closer to that curb. If a one-way street allows parking on both sides, this Utah parking law provides the same provisions for the left-hand side of the car.
Additionally, this Utah parking law prohibits angled parking on any highway without sufficient width to allow angled parking. The Department of Transportation may place traffic-control devices to restrict parking on highways if the parking is too dangerous, the parking would interfere with traffic, and/or the parking would violate issues indicated by a traffic-control device.
Paying Ticket under Utah Parking Laws
Utah parking laws allow a person to pay their fine for the citation online only if the local court accepts online payments. If you’re looking to pay your ticket online within around Salt Lake City, you can visit the following link: