A brief guide to Vermont parking laws
When your vehicle comes to a stop, this does not mean your responsibilities as a driver are at an end. A familiarity with Vermont parking law is important to avoid receiving tickets for violations. Failure to be aware of VT parking laws may lead to financial penalties.
Some Vermont parking laws are common nationwide. You are not allowed to leave your vehicle:
• Parked in a crosswalk
• Parked in an intersection
• On a bridge
• In a tunnel
As in every state, Vermont parking law regarding parallel parking requires you to maintain a safe distance from the road. The right wheel must be no further than one foot from the curb. VT parking laws forbid you from parking on an interstate highway. If vehicle malfunction leaves your automobile stranded there, Vermont parking laws require you to move out of the way of traffic and onto the shoulder if at all possible.
Some aspects of VT parking laws in this area regarding the specific distance you may park away from certain objects. Vermont parking law in such cases specifies distances to maintain which may differ from other states' guidelines. These include:
• You may not park any closer than 50 feet away from a railroad crossing. As in every state, Vermont parking laws prohibit you from parking on the tracks.
• You may not leave your vehicle any closer than six feet away from a fire hydrant.
• Vermont parking law prohibits you from leaving your vehicle any closer to a crosswalk at an intersection than 20 feet.
• You may not park any closer than 30 feet to a traffic signal or stop sign.
• Vermont parking laws state you may park no closer than 20 feet away from a fire. station driveway on the same side of the street or 75 feet away on the opposite side.
While keeping such regulations in mind, it is also important to be mindful of all posted notices. Vermont parking law may be indicated by signs stating you cannot park on a specific block or portion thereof. Additionally, VT parking laws prohibit parking in a zone designated for the handicapped unless you have a permit which allows you to do so. Vermont parking laws likewise forbid you from parking in areas which are designated biking lanes, even if not indicated by a sign.
Exercise common sense when leaving your vehicle. While Vermont parking law does not technically require you to make sure your vehicle is visible from 150 feet in any direction, doing so is always a good idea and will help you avoid accidents. Be aware that doing so may not only lead to a ticket being issued for unsafe parking violations of VT parking laws. Violations of Vermont parking laws may also lead to litigation if it leads to an accident by another party. In such cases, under VT parking laws you will not only be subject to financial penalties but may have to make an additional settlement payment in court.