Quick Guide to Speeding Tickets in Florida
Speeding Tickets: Florida
If you have received a speeding ticket in Florida, you must pay the fine or appeal the violation and appear in traffic court. If you do not pay a fine or appear in court, you can have a warrant put out for your arrest, and your license will likely be suspended. In this article, you will find information on speeding laws in FL, as well as examples of fine amounts in certain districts in Florida. For more information on speeding tickets in Florida, visit the official website of the Florida Department of Transportation.
Statutes and Speeding Tickets: Florida
There are numerous statutes that apply to a speeding ticket in Florida. A general rule under Statute 316.183(1) states that “no person shall drive a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazard than existing.”
Generally, the statutory speed limit in the state is 70 miles per hour on highways, 55 miles per hour in all locations except as noted, and 30 miles per hour in business and residential districts.
For minimum speed limit laws, there are several statutes that address the issue:
• 316.183(5)- “No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”
• 316.183(2)- states the minimum speed on interstate and defense highways with four lanes is 40 miles per hour
• 316.081(2)- “A person, driving at less than the normal speed of traffic, shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.”
There are several other statutes that address speeding tickets in Florida as well. These statutes address how long a license can be revoked because of a speeding ticket in Florida, and even procedures for criminal penalties. Another miscellaneous law that addresses an accident and a speeding ticket in Florida is statute 318.14(1), which states that a person is required to perform 120 hours of community service if the speeding offense caused death to another person.
Amount of Fine for Speeding Ticket in Florida
As mentioned at the beginning of the article, speeding tickets in Florida will vary according to the county in which they occurred. One way to reduce the any speeding ticket in Florida is to go through traffic school. If you go through traffic school, your insurance coverage will not go up and an insurance company cannot refuse to cover you.
Additionally, going through traffic school will reduce your speeding tickets in Florida. The listing provided below shows what your speeding ticket in Florida would be like around the Orange County area with and without traffic school:
With traffic school
• 6 to 9 mph over- $76.00
• 10 to 14 over- $137.50
• 15 to 19 over-$158.00
• 20 to 20 over- $178.50
• 30 mph or more over- $260.50
Without Traffic School
• 6 to 9 mph over- $80.50
• 10 to 14 over- $155.50
• 15 to 19 over-$180.50
• 20 to 20 over- $205.50
• 30 mph or more over-$305.50