Quick Guide to Mississippi Parking Laws
Mississippi Parking Laws
The majority of Mississippi parking law is located within Title 63, Chapter 3 of the MS annotated code. There are other laws that regard MS parking law in local jurisdictions, and the fines within these jurisdictions will vary—especially in metropolitan areas and education institutions. Mississippi parking laws indicate that a person who has received a ticket are allowed to appeal the fine, but these appeals are often very difficult to prove.
This article will discuss general Mississippi parking law and information regarding paying your ticket. For more information on MS parking law, regard the complete list of parking by searching within the state’s annotated code.
Specific Mississippi Parking Laws
Section 63-3-901 provides general MS parking law for prohibited parking in the entire state. Local jurisdictions may modify these state laws to provide for more safety, but the general prohibitions under this section are listed below;
• on a sidewalk
• in front of public or private driveway
• within an intersection
• within ten feet of a fire hydrant
• on a crosswalk
• within twenty feet of a crosswalk at intersection
• within 30 feet of a flashing beacon, stop sign, or traffic signal
• between a safety zone or 30 feet from the ends of the safety zone
• within 15 feet of the nearest rail or railroad crossing
• within twenty feet of a fire station’s driveway entrance or on the opposite side of the street, or 75 feet if indicated by the fire department and local MS parking law
• alongside or opposite street excavation if such parking obstructs traffic
• on the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at a curb
• upon a bridge or other elevated structure on the highway or in a tunnel
• at any place that local MS parking law prohibits stopping or parking
Section 63-3-907 of Mississippi parking law states how cars should be parked along a curb. According to the specific Mississippi parking law, a car parked along an adjacent curb “shall be stopped or parked with the right-hand wheels of such vehicle parallel with and within 12 inches of the right-hand curb.” A local ordinance may overrule this Mississippi parking law or if the street is a one-way street.
Section 63-3-909 of the Mississippi parking laws states how a vehicle needs parked on a hill or “perceptible grade.” According to the conditions under this Mississippi parking law, a person cannot park without “first stopping the engine, locking the ignition and removing the key, and, when standing upon any perceptible grade, without effectively setting the brake thereon and turning the front wheels to the curb or side of the highway.”
Can I Pay my Ticket Online?
Mississippi parking laws allow a person to pay a parking ticket online if the municipal or county court allows such a payment. If your county allows online payments under Mississippi parking laws, you’ll have to search for your county’s government website and make sure you can make a payment online. If you are considering appealing the ticket for violation of a MS parking law, never make a payment online first.