Home Cars Page 3

Cars

Illinois Parking Laws

Illinois Parking Laws

 

Guide to Illinois Parking Law

Nearly every driver has received a parking ticket at some point for violating parking laws or parking too long at a parking meter.  Understanding IL parking laws can help you prevent future tickets and pay your current ones.  This guide will explain several of the violations of Illinois parking laws that can lead to tickets, as well as laws pertaining to disabled parking.  You will also learn about ways to pay your parking tickets online in many jurisdictions.

Violations of IL parking laws

Typically, parking law violators are fined for violations of local laws, rather than statewide Illinois parking laws.  However, in some situations (like parking in a disabled spot), IL parking laws will be enforced against drivers.  Illinois parking laws do not specify any time limits for meters, but individual municipalities set their own parking meter limits that must be abided by.  You may also be violating IL parking laws if you park in a fire zone or loading zone that is clearly marked as such, or in front of a fire hydrant.

Parking Fines

Fines for violations of Illinois parking laws are typically substantially lower than fines associated with moving violations.  If you have violated relatively minor IL parking laws, like staying too long at a parking meter or in a space marked for limited-duration parking, you are likely to be assessed a small fine (sometimes as little as $5-20) for your parking ticket.  For more serious violations of Illinois parking laws, like parking in a disabled spot, you can expect a fine of hundreds of dollars.

In addition to parking fines, people who violate IL parking laws may sometimes have their car towed and impounded.  Towing may also happen from private lots if you are parked in one illegally.  The fees for towing and releasing your car from impound may be several hundred dollars as well.  Habitual offenders who do not pay their tickets may find their car has been immobilized with a “boot” in some jurisdictions if they violate Illinois parking laws.

Who is Responsible?

IL parking laws assume that the person who is the registered owner of a vehicle was responsible for it being parked in an illegal spot.  If you can show evidence that a parking ticket was obtained due to someone else driving the car, you may be able to have the state assess the parking fine against that individual instead.  If your car was reported stolen or missing, you will not be responsible for violations of Illinois parking laws committed with your vehicle during that time.

Paying Parking Tickets Online

Because many people violate IL parking laws every day, handling tickets online has made it much more efficient and easy for the state to collect fines.  If you have been ticketed in the city of Chicago, you can pay your parking ticket online at the following web address.  If you are trying to pay a ticket for another city online, you may try looking up the city's website, which may offer guidance about your options.

 

Kansas Permit Practice Test

Kansas Permit Practice Test

The Kansas department of revenue is responsible for administering the permit practice test for Kansas as well as licensing drivers.  Teenagers as young as 14 may receive an instruction permit and most restrictions on licenses are removed at the age of 17.  The fee for a Kansas instruction permit is $8.
Licensed 14 year olds may drive if they are involved in farm work and 15 – 16 year olds may drive to school or work only.  Taking the permit practice test for Kansas will require parental permission for minors as well as proof of identity and Kansas residency.  Instruction permits are valid for up to one year and the bearer may operate a motor vehicle provided that an adult with a Class A, B, or C license and one year of driving experience is seated next to them in the passenger seat.
There will be a vision screening to ensure that with or without corrective lenses, you have the ability to operate the motor vehicle safely.  Those that fail to pass this test will need to have their eyes examined before they may proceed to the written practice permit test for Kansas.
The permit practice test will consist of questions about traffic laws, as well as identifying road signs by shape and color.  You will use the Kansas driving handbook, which is available at the ksrevenue.org website to prepare for the written test as all the necessary information is contained there.
permit practice test Kansas/practice permit test Kansas

Kentucky Permit Practice Test

Kentucky Permit Practice Test

In order to apply for a permit in Kentucky, you must be at least 16 years old and obtain parental consent.  The Kentucky State Police will administer the requisite testing to determine if an individual can be issued a Kentucky license.  A birth certificate, social security card and proof of address are all necessary in the application process before taking the vision test or the practice permit test in Kentucky.
The written test is available in over twenty different languages, but in order to receive a license, the individual being tested must understand English commands and be able to read road signs.  The permit holder must have had practiced 60 hours before taking the road test, including 10 hours of driving at night.  180 days will have had to elapse between getting the permit and taking the road test for those under the age of 21.
The Kentucky Driver Manual will be your primary resource for passing the practice permit test for Kentucky.  You are allowed six tries to pass the practice permit test for Kentucky before being deferred for six months.  The test will measure knowledge of traffic laws, regulations and highway signs.  You must score 80% of better to pass this test.  The test will be given orally for those that are illiterate in English but any questions related to identifying signs will be completed on the testing sheet.
permit practice test Kentucky/practice permit test Kentucky

Louisiana Permit Practice Test

Louisiana Permit Practice Test

If you are seeking a Driver’s license for classes A, B and C, you must adhere to the procedures set by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles.  This includes taking the permit practice test for Louisiana as well as fulfilling requirements for vision, identification and driving skills.
One may receive a full driver’s license only after turning 18, though you may obtain a learner’s permit and eventually a graduated license at the age of 15.  To apply at this age the applicant must have parental consent, proof of identity, such as a birth certificate and proof of social security, which will be demonstrated by having a social security card.  Proof of residency will also need to be established before proceeding with the vision test, written test and eventually, the road test. 
A learner’s license will cost a $15 application fee, a $13.50 fee for the license and an $8.00 service fee for a total of 36.50.  This license will be valid for 4 years.
Like other states, the permit practice test for Louisiana will test knowledge of traffic laws as well as road signs and signals so the Louisiana Driver’s Guide for Classes D and E will be a critical resource when preparing for the test.  You can find this guide online and the Department of Public Safety website.
permit practice test Louisiana/practice permit test Louisiana

Hawaii Driving Test Questions

Hawaii Driving Test Questions


The Hawaii and driving test questions and answers listed below serve as a great start for studying for your driver’s test.  You should study your Hawaii driving test questions as much as possible before taking your driving tests, and you should also reference as many resources as you can.  Apart from the Hawaii driving test questions below, you should also travel to your local Hawaii DMV and pick up a hard copy of the state’s driver’s manual.  If you have any questions about any Hawaii driving test questions, you should considering asking a responsible adult like a driver’s education instructor, parent, or teacher for help.  

Examples of Hawaii Driving Test Questions

Question

What will happen if the weight on a vehicle’s trailer hitch is too small?

Answer

The trailer will have an increased chance of fishtailing. 

Question

Under Hawaii law, how many feet must you initiate your turn signal before changing lanes?

Answer

You must signal at least 100 feet before changing lanes.

Question

What should you do if you need to read a map or change the coordinates on your GPS?

Answer

You should pull over to the side of the road in a safe place and read the map or change the GPS.

Question

In Hawaii, how soon can you renew your license before it expires?

Answer

You may renew your license up to 6 months before it expires.

Question

In Hawaii, all motor vehicles operated on public roads must have an official Periodic Motor Vehicle Inspection (PMVI) every…?

Answer

You must pass an inspection every year in Hawaii. 

Question

In Hawaii, all traffic accidents must be reported to the police if they result in property damage that amounts to what?

Answer

You must report an accident if it causes $3,000 or more in property damage?

Question

What is the minimum age to obtain a driver’s license in the state of Hawaii?

Answer

You must be 17 years old to obtain your license in Hawaii. 

Question

A yellow, diamond-shaped sign with two lines and the right line moving toward the left line means what?

Answer

The right lane is going to end up ahead. 

Question

The numbers of accidents are more common for what kind of age group?

Answer

Accident are more common for people under the age of 20.  

Question

If you’re not wearing your seat belt and are involved in a serious accident, how many times more likely will the accident result in death because of being thrown from the 

vehicle?

Answer

You are five times more likely to experience a fatality if you’re not wearing your seatbelt. 

Question

What lane should you travel in if you’re moving slower than the rest of traffic?

Answer

You should travel in the lane farthest to the right when possible. 

Question

What are considered to be defense driving technique?

Answer

You should always stay alert, maintain an appropriate following distance, have an alternate plan of action in case something unexpected happens, and keep your eyes moving in order to be aware of traffic situations around you and ahead of you at all times.  

 

Florida Driving Test Questions

Florida Driving Test Questions

 

The Florida driving test questions listed below serve a great starting point in studying for your driver’s test.  You should study as much as possible for your Florida driving test questions, and you should also reference as many resources as possible when studying.  Apart from the Florida driving test questions below, you should also travel to your local DMV and pick up a hard copy of the state’s driver’s manual.  If you have any questions about any Florida driving test questions, you should ask a responsible adult for help such as a driver’s education instructor, a parent, or teacher.  

Examples of Florida Driving Test Questions

Question

What does a yellow, triangular sign pointing left indicate?

Answer

The sign states there is a no-passing zone ahead. 

Question

What does a sign which reads restricted lane ahead with a white diamond inside of a black space mean?

Answer

The sign means the lane is reserved for certain purposes or certain vehicles like vehicles that car pool. 

Question

What does a large blue sign with a large white H symbolize?

Answer

The sign indicates that there is a hospital ahead. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with the word DIP in the middle mean?

Answer

The sign indicates that you should slow down and watch for a low place in the road. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with a bicycle in the middle indicate?

Answer

The sign lets drivers know that there is a bikeway crossing on the roadway up ahead. 

Question

What does a white sign with an arrow going around to the right of a barrier entail?

Answer

The sign indicates there is a divided highway up ahead. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with the words “Soft Shoulder” indicate?

Answer

The sign warns drivers that the shoulder is unsafe and the shouldn’t leave the pavement.  

Question

What happens if you refuse to take a breath or blood alcohol test?

Answer

Your driving privileges will be taken away in the state of Florida for at least 12 months. 

Question

If you are driving at night, what is the minimum distance in which you should use high-beam headlights in oncoming traffic?

Answer

There should be at least 500 feet in between you and the oncoming car if you’re using your high beams. 

Question

What should you do if you’re driving on the expressway and pass your exit by mistake?

Answer

You should continue to the next exit, come back the following direction on the opposite side of the highway, and use the exit on the other side of the road.

Question

What is the standard speed limit in business and residential areas within the state of Florida?

answer

The standard speed limit within these areas is 30 miles per hour. 

Question

How often must you renew your license plates and registrations in the state of Florida?

Answer

You must renew every year in Florida. 

Question

If you are approaching a drawbridge with a red signal, what must you do?

Answer

You must come to a complete stop.  

 

Georgia Driving Test Questions

Georgia Driving Test Questions


The Georgina driving test questions listed below stand as a great starting point for studying for your driver’s test.  You should always study for your Georgia driving test questions as much as possible, and you should also reference as many resources as possible.  Apart from the Georgia driving test questions listed below, you should also travel to your local DMV and pick up the state’s hard copy driver’s manual.  This driver’s manual will contain all the information that may be on the driver’s test.  If you have any questions about the Georgia driving test questions, you should ask a responsible adult such as a driver’s education instructor, parent, or teacher for help.  

Examples of Georgina Driving Test Questions

Question

What does Georgia’s move-over law require drivers to do if they see an emergency vehicle with flashing lights parked along the shoulder?

Answer

They are required to move over one lane if possible. 

Question 

What are the penalties associated with driving under the influence in the state of Georgia?

Answer

Penalties include mandatory suspension of driving privileges, fines up to $1,000, and jail sentences up to 12 months. 

Question

What should you do when traveling through a work zone?

Answer

You should prepare for unexpected stops, watch for speed limit signs, and changes lanes when possible to give more room to workers. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with a traffic light in the middle indicate?

Answer

The sign mean there is a traffic signal ahead.

Question

What are horizontal rectangular signs normally used for?

Answer

These types of signs are usually guide signs. 

Question

Within the state of Georgia, what kinds of roads can you travel 65 miles per hour on?

Answer

You can only travel 65 miles per hour on an urban interstate and multiple lane divided highway.  

Question

What does an orange, diamond-shaped sign with two lines and one line on the right progressing towards the line of the right mean?

Answer

The sign means the right lane is closed up ahead.  

Question

In a normal passenger car, partial hydroplaning can begin at what speeds?

Answer

Partial hydroplaning can begin at speeds as low as 35 mph. 

Question

What should you do if you suddenly experience a tire blow-out?

Answer

You should first grip the steering wheel very firmly and then proceed to slowly move over to the shoulder of the road.

Question

What does a square, white sign with a black box truck inside of a restricted circle indicate?

Answer

The sign means no trucks are allowed.

Question

When must you use your headlights?

Answer

You must use your headlights one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise.  You must also use your headlights in construction zone all throughout the day.  

Question

In a vehicle equipped with airbags, what is the best position to place your hands on the steering wheel?

Answer

You should place your left hand at the 8 o’clock position and your right hand at the 4 o’clock position. 

 

Arizona Driving Test Questions

Arizona Driving Test Questions


The list below provides questions that may qualify as Arizona driving test questions.  When studying for your Arizona driving test questions, it’s important to refer to as many resources as possible.  Apart from the Arizona driving test questions below, you should also consider visiting the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and obtaining a hard copy of a driver’s manual.  The Arizona driving test questions below are not all of the possible questions on a driver’s test, but the list is a good starting point.  If you have any questions about Arizona driving test questions, you should ask a driver’s education teacher, parent, or other adult who is knowledgeable of the road. 

Question

What does a curb that is painted yellow indicate to a driver?

Answer

The driver can only stop long enough to load or unload, but the driver cannot park for an extended period of time.  

Question

What should you do when you are preparing to turn left at an intersection and you see an oncoming vehicle?

Answer

Yield the right-of-way to the oncoming vehicle and turn after they pass.

Question

What should you do if you start feeling sleepy when you are driving?

Answer

Pull over and take a nap instead of turning on the radio or rolling the windows down.  

Question

What kind of headlight should you use when you are driving in fog?

Answer

You should use low beam headlights. 

Question

What should you do if you encounter a severe dust storm in the state of AZ?

Answer

You should turn on your hazard lights, reduce your speed as fast as possible, and stop as far to the right as possible.  

Question

What is the correct hand signal in order to show you’re making a left turn?

Answer

Your hand and arm should be extended outward.  

Question

What does a sign made up with a red circle and white, horizontal rectangle in the middle indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates the area is a no-entry zone. 

Question

If a person is under the age of 18, has a graduated driver’s license, and is convicted of a traffic violation for the first time, what must the driver do in the state of AZ?

Answer

The driver must attend Traffic Survival School. 

Question

What should you first do if you are the first person to come to a scene of an accident?

Answer

You should first turn off the ignitions of each of the cars involved in the crash. 

Question

If a bicyclist is riding at night, what should be visible from 500 feet?

Answer

They should have a strong, white head lamp that is visible from 500 ft. 

Question

What should you do if a vehicle behind you flashes its lights indicating they want to pass you?

Answer

You should move to the right lane when it’s safe and allow the driver to pass.

Question

What does a yellow, diamond shaped sign with a cross in the middle indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates there is a four-way intersection ahead.  

 

Arkansas Driving Test Questions

Arkansas Driving Test Questions


The list below provides questions that may qualify as Arkansas driving test questions.  This guide serves as a great starting point, but you should reference as many resources as possible when you are studying for your Arkansas driving test questions.  You should also consider visiting a local DMW and obtaining a hard copy of a driver’s manual and all Arkansas driving test questions.  If you have any questions about the Arkansas driving test questions, you should ask a responsible and knowledgeable adult.  Driver’s education teachers, parents, and teachers often serve as great resources for answering questions for young drivers.  

Question

In the state of Arkansas, it is illegal to be in the front seat of a vehicle without…?

Answer

Wearing your seatbelt.

Question

When you are changing lanes, you should look over your shoulder in the direction you intend to move in order to insure there are no cars where?

Answer

In order to insure there are no cars in your blind spots.

Question

What should you avoid to do before making a right hand turn?

Answer

You should avoid making a wide swinging turn into the left lane before making a complete right turn.

Question

If you are driving on a two lane road, where is it safest to drive your vehicle within the lane?

Answer

It is always safest to drive your vehicle in the center of the lane.  

Question

Why should you be cautious when driving on pavement when it begins to rain on a hot day?

Answer

You should be cautious because the road will be slippery due to oil in the asphalt. 

Question

What should you do if there are no reduced speed limit signs posted within work zones in Arkansas?

Answer

You should continue to obey the normal speed limit.

Question

What should you do in order to avoid heavy braking within the last-minute of turning within a city?

Answer

You should keep at least a city-block in view when driving. 

Question

If your car is hit from the side, which direction will your body be thrown?

Answer

You body will be thrown toward the side that was hit. 

Question

How many feet will you travel in ten seconds if you are traveling at 55 miles per hour?

Answer

You will travel 800 feet in ten seconds.

Question

You shouldn’t pass if you are how far away from a hill or curve?

Answer

You shouldn’t pass if you are within one-third of a mile from a hill or curve.

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with an arrow pointing up and another black line Extending to the right half way down the arrow indicate?

Answer

The sign warns about merging traffic up ahead. 

Question

Drivers must avoid driving in no-zones such as?

Answer

Drivers should avoid driving 20 feet in front of the cab of a truck, on either side of a tractor-trailer, and up to 200 feet in the rear of the trailer.  

 

Georgia Permit Practice Test

Georgia Permit Practice Test

You must be at least 15 years old to receive a permit in Georgia and take the permit practice test.  Even then, you may do so only with the permission of a parent or legal guardian.  Georgia also requires the parent authorizing the teenager applying for the learner’s permit to show a valid Georgia license or ID card.  If the parent does not have these things, proof of residency is required.  The applicant will also need to present either a US birth certificate or a valid immigration document.  Unlike other states, the Social Security Card is not required as the DMV will verify the SSN you provide through an online system when pairing it with your other personal information.  Children under 18 must also present a certificate of school attendance, or a high school diploma/equivalent.
Before you can take the practice permit test for Georgia, you must pay a fee of $10 by cash, credit or check.  This fee must be paid each time the test is taken and you must wait one day to retake the test if you fail the first time.  The permit received from Georgia is valid for 24 months and allows the permit holder to drive with a licensed driver over 21 years old supervising.  The practice permit test will measure the applicant’s knowledge of road rules and signs.
You will need to use the Georgia Department of Driver Services Driver’s Manual as your primary resource for passing the permit practice test for Georgia.  You will find this document online at the DDS website.
permit practice test Georgia/practice permit test Georgia