Home Cars Page 2

Cars

Speeding Ticket California

Speeding Ticket California

 

A Quick Guide to Speeding Tickets in California 

Speeding Tickets: California

If you have received a speeding ticket in California, you are required to pay the fine or appeal the action and appear in court.  If you do neither of the following, you may have a warrant put out for your arrest, and you will have your license suspended.  Penalties and speeding tickets in California can be somewhat strict compared to other states, and you can find information on penalties and laws within this article.  

Speeding Ticket in California

Speeding tickets in California can be issued according to multiple laws and limits.  These limits were put forth by Senate Bill 848 in 1996, and the bill has been amended several times to address conditions within statues.  The code referring to speed limits in CA lists the following guidelines: 

(a) “Except at provided in Section 22356, no person shall drive a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than 65 miles per hour.  

(b) “…no person shall drive a vehicle upon a two-lane, undivided highway at a speed greater than 55 miles per hour unless that highway, or portion thereof, has been posted for a higher speed by the Department of Transportation or appropriate local agency…” 

There are exceptions to these rules, though.  The state of California has some highways that have posted speed limits at 70 miles per hour, and for listings segments of interstate with 70 mph postings, visit the following website under the California Department of Transportation.

Fines and Speeding Tickets in California

There are several kinds of speeding tickets in California.  The prices of a speeding ticket in California may range depending on what jurisdiction you receive the citation in, but several violation codes address speeding in Ca.  These codes for a speeding ticket in California are listed below: 

1. VC 22349 Unsafe Speed- this fine is $214 for 1 to 15 miles per hour over the speed limit

2. VC 22350 Unsafe Speed- this fine is $328 for 16 to 25 miles per hour over the speed limit

You may receive larger speeding tickets in California or even harsher penalties if you are going over 25 miles per hour or have received warnings from the Negligent Operator Treatment System for recurrent violations.  For example, if you receive a traffic ticket in California and the violation was severe or significantly repeated within the periods listed below, you may lose your license in California until enough points clear: 

• 4 points in 12 months 

• 6 points in 24 months

• 8 points in 36 months

You can also lose your license for any other number of offenses.  Some of these offenses may include driving under the influence, trying to evade a police officer, failing to report to a court hearing, and more.  

You can view more information on a speeding ticket in California and certain types of offenses that may result in suspension of a license by visiting the following website under the CA Department of Motor Vehicles.

 

Kentucky Parking Laws

Kentucky Parking Laws

 

Guide to Kentucky Parking Laws

Parking tickets are issued to thousands of Kentucky residents every day.  If you want to avoid receiving parking tickets, understanding KY parking laws can help.  This guide will give you information on the basics of Kentucky parking laws, including common violations and penalties.  You will also learn about the consequences of failing to pay a parking ticket under KY parking laws.

Kentucky Parking Laws and Disabled Parking

KY parking laws began to mandate reserved parking spaces for disabled people with the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act.  In order to park in a disabled parking spot, drivers are required by Kentucky parking laws to prominently display a disabled license plate or placard.  You may be assessed a $50 to $200 fine for violating KY parking laws by parking in a disabled space without a permit.  Drivers who park in a handicapped space and display a permit fraudulently (for instance, if the permit belongs to a family member who is not in the vehicle) may also be fined according to Kentucky parking laws.

Kentucky Parking Laws and Tickets

There are many reasons that you may be given a ticket for violating KY parking laws.  All violations of Kentucky parking laws are considered non-moving violations, and therefore do not result in accumulating any points on a license.  The most common violations of KY parking laws involve parking too long in a space or at an expired parking meter.  Typically, people who violate these parking laws are simply given a ticket.  

Refusing to pay a parking ticket can result in additional fines and penalties, and if you accumulate enough violations of Kentucky parking laws without paying your tickets, you may have your car immobilized or towed.  Other violations of KY parking laws can also lead to towing: for instance, if you have parked in front of a fire hydrant or in a loading zone, you may find that your car has been towed and impounded.  It can be particularly expensive to get a car out of impound, so it is important not to violate these Kentucky parking laws if you hope to avoid expensive fines.

Failure to pay tickets can also cause the municipality where the ticket was issued to take your tickets to collections.  This can have a significant negative impact on your credit score, and you may find that your violation of parking laws not only costs you money—it could also impact your ability to buy a house or car, or even find a job, unless you pay promptly.

Fighting Kentucky Parking Tickets

According to KY parking laws, your parking ticket must include information about both how to pay the ticket and how to contest it.  If you hope to fight a ticket received for violating Kentucky parking laws, you have a relatively low chance of winning in most circumstances.  It may be wise to talk to an attorney with experience fighting for defendants facing Kentucky parking tickets before deciding to go to court.  In many cases, it may simply not be worth it to go to court, and paying your ticket may be a cheaper and easier alternative to fighting your ticket.

 

Speeding Ticket South Carolina

Speeding Ticket South Carolina

 

A brief guide to speeding tickets in South Carolina

As a driver, it is your responsibility to obey all the rules of the road. There are specific guidelines which must be followed in order to avoid receiving a speeding ticket in South Carolina. Keep in mind that the statewide guidelines are not necessarily the only rules you must be aware of. Districts and municipalities may set their own guidelines in certain areas. To ensure you do not receive speeding tickets in South Carolina, be aware at all time of any posted signs related to driving laws.

Familiarize yourself with statewide guidelines on maximum driving speeds. Making sure you are in compliance with these is the best way to avoid being issued a speeding ticket in South Carolina:

• You may not drive any faster than 70 miles per hour on interstate highways. Driving at speeds in excess of these may lead to speeding tickets in South Carolina. 

• You may not exceed 60 miles per hour on a non-interstate multilane highway.

• You may not go faster than 40 miles per hour on an unpaved road.

• You may not exceed 30 miles per hour in an urban area.

It is especially important to be alert when passing through a school zone. If you exceed 25 miles per hour when passing through this type of zone, you risk receiving speeding tickets in South Carolina.

All of these regulations concerning when a speeding ticket in South Carolina may be issued apply to drivers of most vehicles. However, there are specific laws governing non-standard vehicles. For example, anyone who is driving a moped faster than 25 miles per hour may be issued speeding tickets in South Carolina. Additionally, anyone who is towing a large trailer may not exceed 55 miles per hours. Note that in areas where the posted maximum speed limit is 45 miles per hour or greater, someone who is towing a trailer may also receiving a speeding ticket in South Carolina if they are driving 10 miles per hour slower or more than this posted limit.

These kinds of traffic violations are generally classified as misdemeanors, especially if you are a first time offender. If you are issued a speeding ticket in South Carolina for the first time, it may be possible to remove them from your record if you agree to complete a defensive driving course. In most cases, you are unlikely to face legal consequences greater than a financial penalty. 

However, receiving multiple speeding tickets in South Carolina can lead to more serious consequences. A pattern of reckless driving which places other vehicles at risk can lead to the suspension of your driving privileges. Even if this is not the case, your insurance company may raise your rates if you receive even one speeding ticket in South Carolina.

There are many other aspects of driving which can lead to legal problems. Speeding tickets in South Carolina may be issued in combination with citations for more serious violations of the law, such as driving without insurance.

 

California Driving Test Questions

California Driving Test Questions


The list of California driving test questions and answers provides a good starting point for studying for your driver’s test.  You should study you California driving test questions as much as possible before taking the test, and you should reference as many resources as possible.  You can find more California driving test questions at your local DMV and within a hard copy of a driver’s manual.  If you have any questions about your California driving test questions, you should as a responsible adult such as a driver’s education instructor, a parent, or a teacher.  

Examples of California Driving Test Questions

Question

Skidding due to locked wheels is usually caused by what?

Answer

Braking too hard at too high of a speed.

Question

Left turns at a red light can only be made from where?

Answer

These turns can only be made from a one-way street to another one-way street.

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with a wiggly, upward facing arrow indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates there is a winding road up ahead.

Question

If a driver is involved in an accident, they should report the collision to the DMV within how many days?

Answer

They should report the accident in 10 days. 

Question

What does an upside down, white triangle outlined with another red triangle indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates you must yield. 

Question

What does a traffic signal with a flashing yellow arrow indicate?

Answer

The signal indicates you should proceed with caution.  

Question

What should a driver do if they see livestock?

Answer

The driver should follow the directions from the farmer or person handling the livestock. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with an upward facing line and another perpendicular line extending to the right mean?

answer

You should yield to the vehicles on the highway. 

Question

What blood alcohol content can a person under the age of 21 have?

Answer

A person under the age of 21 must have a BAC of zero in CA.

Question

If a person is disabled and displays their placard properly, what kind of painted curb can they park at?

Answer

They can park at a blue painted curb.  

Question

What should a minor do if he or she receives a phone call on their cell phone?

Answer

They shouldn’t answer the phone, not even with hands-free technology.

Question

If you litter on the side of the road in California, what fine are you subjected to?

Answer

You will receive a $1,000 fine in the state of California.

Question

If a bicyclist reaches an intersection at the same time as you do, what should you do?

Answer

You should yield to the bicycle.  

Question

If you are having vehicle trouble and need to stop, what is the first step you should take?

Answer

You should pull of the road and away from traffic as much as possible. 

Question

What does a square, green sign with a white airplane indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates that you are approaching an airport. 

 

Connecticut Driving Test Questions

Connecticut Driving Test Questions


The Connecticut driving test questions below serve as a great starting point in studying for your driver’s test.  You should study for your Connecticut driving test questions as much as possible, and you may want to reference multiple resources when studying.  The list of Connecticut driving questions and answers below do not serve as a complete list, so after you reference the questions below, you should visit your local DMV in order to obtain a complete hard copy of a driver’s manual.  If you have any questions about the Connecticut driving test questions, you should ask a responsible adult such as a driver’s education instructor, parent, or teacher.  

Examples of Connecticut Driving Test Questions

Question

What should you do if you are approaching a horse being ridden on the highway?

Answer

You should reduce your speed until you’re in front of the horse.

Question

What does a yellow, rectangular sign with a bold chevron pointing right indicate?

Answer

There is a sharp curve ahead that turns to the right. 

Question

What does a dashed yellow line alongside another solid yellow line indicate?

Answer

The lines indicate that passing is only permitted on the side of the dashed yellow line.  

Question

What does an eye test for a driver’s license evaluate?

Answer

The eye test evaluates peripheral vision, acuity, and depth and color perception. 

Question

What does a white, rectangular sign with a bold upward facing arrow and curved arrow jetting off to the left of the main arrow indicate?

Answer

The sign is a left or through sign. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with a black car and curving lines underneath the car indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates there are slippery road conditions and the driver should reduce their speed. 

Question

If a vehicle does not pass an emissions inspection, how long does the driver have to fix the problem and have their emissions re-checked?

Answer

The driver has two months to get the problem fixed and re-inspected. 

Question

If you fail a BAC test in the state of Connecticut, how long will your operator’s license be suspended?

Answer

Your license will be suspended for at least 90 days in CT. 

Question

If you are driving on an icy road with a posted speed limit of 50 miles per hour, what should you do?

Answer

You should drive slower than the posted speed limit. 

Question

How many seconds ahead does a safe driver normally look?

Answer

A safe driver looks at least 12 seconds ahead of their vehicle.

Question

What is the result of driving a vehicle with unbalanced tires and low tire pressure?

Answer

Your tires will normally wear much faster.

Question

A 16 or 17 year-old driver is not allowed to operate their vehicles from what times unless for certain activities like sporting events and work?

Answer

They cannot operate the vehicle between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.

Question

If your brakes fail while driving, what is the first step you should take?

Answer

You should pump the brakes several times.  Then you should shift to lower gears and look for a safe place to slow down and stop.  

 

Colorado Driving Test Questions

Colorado Driving Test Questions


The Colorado driving test questions below serve as a great starting point for studying for your driver’s test.  The Colorado driving test questions listed below are not a complete list, but they are still helpful.  In order to obtain a complete list of Colorado driving test questions, you should visit your local DMV and acquire a hard copy of the state’s driver’s manual.  If you have any questions about your Colorado driving test questions, it’s a good idea to ask a knowledgeable adult such as a driver’s education teacher, parent, or teacher for example.  

Examples of Colorado Driving Test Questions

Question

If you see a bus with flashing red lights stopped ahead on the opposite side of the road, what must you do?

Answer

You must stop your vehicle at least 20 feet before reaching the school bus.  

Question

What should a driver pay more attention to when passing in rural areas?

Answer

A driver should look out for unmarked railroad crossing and hidden intersections. 

Questions

If a street shares a center lane, what can a driver do within this lane?

Answer

The driver can make left-hand turns from this lane.

Questions

What type of hand method should a driver use while making turns around a corner?

Answer

They should use the grip and slide method.

Questions

What kind of blind spots do trucks and buses have?

Answer

Trucks and buses have rear and side blind spots.

Questions

What does a red arrow mean on a traffic light?

Answer

You many not precede in the direction of the arrow. 

Question

What should you do if you are on a multi-lane highway and you see an emergency vehicle stopped along the side of the road?

Answer

You should leave at least one lane between your vehicle and the emergency vehicle if possible. 

Question

What does a round, yellow sign with two crossing black lines and two Rs on both side indicate?

Answer

The sign means there may be a passing train ahead.

Question

If two vehicles meet on a steep and narrow road that is not wide enough for two vehicles, what should the vehicle going downhill do?

Answer

The vehicle traveling down the hill should yield the right-of-way to the other vehicle going up the hill.

Question

What should you do if the traffic lights at an intersection are not working properly?

Answer

You should treat the intersection as a four-way stop.  

Question

What is the penalty for drinking and driving with a BAC of 0.08%?

Answer

The fine is between $600 and $1,000 for the first offense in Colorado.

Question

What should you do if an animal runs out in front of your vehicle?

Answer

You should concentrate on keeping control of your vehicle.

Question

What does an orange, diamond-shaped sign with a person holding something out to side mean?

Answer

The sign means there is a flagperson ahead.  

Question

How many inches should you car be from the curb where parking is permitted?

Answer

You car should be within 12 inches of the curb. 

 

Indiana Driving Test Questions

Indiana Driving Test Questions


The Indiana driving test questions and answers listed below serve as a great starting point for studying for a driver’s test.  You should always study your Indiana driving test questions as much as possible, and you should also reference as many resources as possible in order to pass your driver’s test the first time.  Apart from the Indiana driving test questions and answer below, you should also consider visiting your local DMV and pick up a hard copy of the state’s driver’s manual.  If you need questions answered by an experienced driver, it’s always a good idea to ask a driver’s education instructor, a parent, or a teacher.  

Example Indiana Driving Test Questions

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with three curving arrows all traveling in the same direction symbolize?

Answer

The sign indicates there is a roundabout ahead.  

Question

What is a red flashing light at an intersection equivalent to?

Answer

The light is equivalent to a stop sign. 

Question

If the speed limit is 50 mph or great, you must turn on your turn signal before changing lanes in how many feet?

Answer

You must signal 300 feet before turning.

Question

In the state of Indiana, vehicles may not exceed what speed limit in an urban residential area?

Answer

Vehicles may not travel over 30 mph. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with a the edges of the roadway coming in and then going back out indicate?

Answer

The sign is meant to warn passengers that a narrow bridge is ahead and they should proceed with caution.  

Question

In the state of Indiana, the maximum speed limit in a highway work zone can’t exceed what speed limit?

Answer

The speed limit can’t exceed 45 mph in a work zone. 

Question

What is the first rule of a safe and legal turn?

Answer

You should move into the proper lane well before the turn.

Question

When you are turning a vehicle, what path do the rear wheels follow in relation to the front wheels?

Answer

The back wheels follow a shorter path.

Question

What should you do if fog reduces your visibility to near zero when you are driving?

Answer

You should carefully pull off the road as far as possible and stop until you can see more.  

Question

What does a square blue sign with a person in bed indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates there are accommodations farther up the road. 

Question

What should you do if a tornado is nearby?

Answer

You should stop and exit your car, and then you should immediately go to a low-lying area.  

Question

In order to avoid the effects of the glare from oncoming headlights, what should a driver do?

Answer

A driver should focus on the right side of the road and try not to look into the headlights.  

Question

What does a sign with two people on a seesaw mean?

Answer

The sign means there is a playground area up ahead. 

Question

What are flashing arrow boards normally used for?

Answer

The boards are used to indicate that there is a detour ahead.   

 

Idaho Driving Test Questions

Idaho Driving Test Questions


The Idaho driving test questions and answers listed below serve as a great starting point in studying for your driver’s test.  When studying for the Idaho driving test questions, you should reference as many resources as possible.  Even when you’re not studying for Idaho driving test question, it’s always a good idea to keep updated on driving laws as well.  Apart from the Idaho driving test questions listed below, you should also consider obtaining a hard copy of the state’s driver’s manual from your local DMV.  If you have any questions about your Idaho driving test questions, you might want to consider asking a responsible adult such as a driver’s education instructor, parent, or teacher.  

Examples of Idaho Driving Test Questions

Question

When you make a U-turn near a hill or curve, Idaho state law requires that you able to see how far?

Answer

You should be able to see 500 feet in both directions. 

Question

If you misjudge a turn when preparing to engage in a right hand turn behind a bicyclist and collide with the person, what type of crash has happened?

Answer

This type of collision is called a right hook crash. 

Question

Regarding speed, Idaho law requires drivers to what?

Answer

Drivers must maintain a speed that is reasonable and prudent at all times.  

Question

When you approach behind a snowplow truck in the winter, what kind of distance should you maintain to avoid damage to your vehicle?

Answer

You should maintain two car lengths behind the snowplow for every 10 mph you drive. 

Question 

When parking on a public road in Idaho, you must park parallel and within how many inches of the curb?

Answer

You must park within 18 inches of the curb or edge of roadway. 

Question

What distance can you see with each set of headlights at night?

Answer

You can see 350 feet with your high-beams and 100 feet with your low-beams. 

Question

What does a white, rectangular sign with an arrow looping around symbolize?

Answer

The sign states that U-turns are permitted.

Question

Under Idaho law, the backing of vehicle is illegal everywhere except?

Answer

You can backup your vehicle in parking areas. 

Question

If you want to exit from a freeway, what lane must you use?

Answer

You must use the deceleration lane. 

Question

What does a red, octagonal sign indicate?

Answer

A red octagonal sign always means stop. 

Question

In order to reduce your chance of hydroplaning, what should you do?

Answer

You should always slow down during rainstorms. 

Question

In Idaho, what are the maximum speeds in which personal and commercial vehicles can travel?

Answer

Personal vehicles can drive at a maximum speed of 75 miles per hour and commercial vehicles can travel at a maximum speed of 65 miles per hour. 

Question

Who can use crossover lanes on freeways or interstate highways?

Answer

Only emergency vehicles and police vehicles can use crossover lanes. 

Question

If you plan to turn just after an intersection, what must you do?

Answer

You must provide a turn signal just after you pass through the intersection.  

 

Illinois Driving Test Questions

Illinois Driving Test Questions


The Illinois driving test questions and answers listed below serve as a great starting point in studying for your driver’s test.  You should study your Illinois driving test questions thoroughly, and you should study from a variety of resources.  Apart from the Illinois driving test questions and answers listed below, you should consider going to your local DMV and picking up a hard copy of the state’s driver’s manual as well.  Even if you’re not studying for a driver’s test, the Illinois driving test questions will still help you keep updated on state laws and certain driving situations.  

Examples of Illinois Driving Test Questions

Question

What should you do if you suddenly have no control of your steering wheel?

Answer

You should immediately ease your foot off the gas and take appropriate measures to slow down your vehicle.  

Question

If a driver or bicyclist has their arm out and extended downwards, what are they signaling?

Answer

They are signaling that they are going to slow down.

Question

What should you do if you are involved in an accident that causes damage to an unattended vehicle or property?

Answer

You should leave your name, address, phone number, and license plate number of the vehicle or property if you can’t find the owner.  You should also notify the police and stop your vehicle in an area away from traffic. 

Question

If you are driving above the speed limit in a construction zone with no workers, what kind of traffic citation will you receive for your first offense?

Answer

You will receive a fine up to $375 in Illinois. 

Question

What should you always do before changing lanes on the expressway?

Answer

You should check all of your mirrors and blind spots. 

Question

If a person fails to report a crash resulting in death of a person within 30 minutes after it occurred, what fine may they be subject to?

Answer

They may receive a fine up to $25,000 in Illinois. 

Question

What is the maximum speed limit for all vehicles in Illinois?

Answer

The maximum speed limit is 65 miles per hour. 

Question

If a driver causes physical harm to a child in a school crossing zone, what might they face?

Answer

They may face fines, imprisonment, and suspension of driving privileges. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with a speed limit sign in the middle and arrow above the speed limit indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates there is a speed zone ahead and you should be prepared to reduce your speed. 

Question

If you’re following a truck at night, what should you do?

Answer

You should always dim your headlights because the large mirrors can blind the driver.

Question

If you arrive at a four way intersection and another case does as well, who has the right-of-way?

Answer

The person who stopped first usually has the right-of-way. 

Question

If a load extends four feet of more from the rear of the vehicle, a red light must be attached and be visible for how far?

Answer

The light must be visible for 500 feet.  

 

Delaware Driving Test Questions

Delaware Driving Test Questions


The Delaware driving test questions below serves as a great starting point in studying for your driver’s test.  You should attempt to study as much as possible for Delaware driving test questions, and you should reference as many resources as possible.  Many of the Delaware driving questions below are likely to be on your driver’s test, but you should also consider going to your local DMV and picking up a hard copy of the state’s driver’s manual.  If you have any questions about your Delaware driving test questions, it’s always a good idea to ask a responsible adult like a driver’s education instructor, parent, or teacher for help.  

Examples of Delaware Driving Test Questions

Question

What is true regarding railroad crossings?

Answer

A driver should always check more than one track before crossing, drivers must always yield to crossing trains, and you should never attempt to go across the tracks when there is no room for the vehicle on the far side.  

Question

How much greater is the probability of having an accident with a BAC of 0.08%?

Answer

The probability increases by 500%. 

Question

What does a yellow, diamond sign with a deer in the center indicate?

Answer

The sign indicates that you should be alert for deer on both sides of the road.  

Question

What color are traffic warning signs within work zones?

Answer

The signs are usually orange.

Question

What does a solid white line between traffic lanes indicate?

Answer

You should stay in your lane and you should not change lanes. 

Question

In the state of Delaware, what is the most effective way of monitoring busy intersections and motorists who undergo a traffic violation?

Answer

The Red Light Reinforcement Program is the most effective tool for monitoring. 

Question

What are the two types of speed signs in Delaware?

Answer

Speed limit signs and advisory speed signs. 

Question

If you need to park and leave your vehicle on the highway or street, what is prohibited?

Answer

You are prohibited from lowering the windows.

Question

What is the left-most lane used for on multi-lane roads?

Answer

This lane is used for passing slower vehicles. 

Question

You must always stop before reaching a flashing school bus from either direction when it is stopped except in what situation?

Answer

You may keep going if you are on the opposite side of the highway with four or more lanes. 

Question 

What should you do when a truck passes your vehicle?

Answer

You should keep to the far side of your lane in order to let them pass. 

Question

What does a yellow, rectangular sign with two broad connect arrow pointing in both direction indicate?

Answer

You should yield right-of-way or stop before you turn left or right.

Question

What should you do if you want to cross several lanes on a multi-lane highway?

Answer

You should take them one at a time.  

Question

Driver should never exceed the 20 mph speed limit where?

Answer

In a school zone.