Home Cars Page 3

Cars

Indiana Parking Laws

Arizona Parking Laws

Speeding Ticket South Carolina

Speeding Ticket South Carolina

 

A brief guide to speeding tickets in South Carolina

As a driver, it is your responsibility to obey all the rules of the road. There are specific guidelines which must be followed in order to avoid receiving a speeding ticket in South Carolina. Keep in mind that the statewide guidelines are not necessarily the only rules you must be aware of. Districts and municipalities may set their own guidelines in certain areas. To ensure you do not receive speeding tickets in South Carolina, be aware at all time of any posted signs related to driving laws.

Familiarize yourself with statewide guidelines on maximum driving speeds. Making sure you are in compliance with these is the best way to avoid being issued a speeding ticket in South Carolina:

• You may not drive any faster than 70 miles per hour on interstate highways. Driving at speeds in excess of these may lead to speeding tickets in South Carolina. 

• You may not exceed 60 miles per hour on a non-interstate multilane highway.

• You may not go faster than 40 miles per hour on an unpaved road.

• You may not exceed 30 miles per hour in an urban area.

It is especially important to be alert when passing through a school zone. If you exceed 25 miles per hour when passing through this type of zone, you risk receiving speeding tickets in South Carolina.

All of these regulations concerning when a speeding ticket in South Carolina may be issued apply to drivers of most vehicles. However, there are specific laws governing non-standard vehicles. For example, anyone who is driving a moped faster than 25 miles per hour may be issued speeding tickets in South Carolina. Additionally, anyone who is towing a large trailer may not exceed 55 miles per hours. Note that in areas where the posted maximum speed limit is 45 miles per hour or greater, someone who is towing a trailer may also receiving a speeding ticket in South Carolina if they are driving 10 miles per hour slower or more than this posted limit.

These kinds of traffic violations are generally classified as misdemeanors, especially if you are a first time offender. If you are issued a speeding ticket in South Carolina for the first time, it may be possible to remove them from your record if you agree to complete a defensive driving course. In most cases, you are unlikely to face legal consequences greater than a financial penalty. 

However, receiving multiple speeding tickets in South Carolina can lead to more serious consequences. A pattern of reckless driving which places other vehicles at risk can lead to the suspension of your driving privileges. Even if this is not the case, your insurance company may raise your rates if you receive even one speeding ticket in South Carolina.

There are many other aspects of driving which can lead to legal problems. Speeding tickets in South Carolina may be issued in combination with citations for more serious violations of the law, such as driving without insurance.

 

Arkansas Driving Test Questions

Arkansas Driving Test Questions


The list below provides questions that may qualify as Arkansas driving test questions.  This guide serves as a great starting point, but you should reference as many resources as possible when you are studying for your Arkansas driving test questions.  You should also consider visiting a local DMW and obtaining a hard copy of a driver’s manual and all Arkansas driving test questions.  If you have any questions about the Arkansas driving test questions, you should ask a responsible and knowledgeable adult.  Driver’s education teachers, parents, and teachers often serve as great resources for answering questions for young drivers.  

Question

In the state of Arkansas, it is illegal to be in the front seat of a vehicle without…?

Answer

Wearing your seatbelt.

Question

When you are changing lanes, you should look over your shoulder in the direction you intend to move in order to insure there are no cars where?

Answer

In order to insure there are no cars in your blind spots.

Question

What should you avoid to do before making a right hand turn?

Answer

You should avoid making a wide swinging turn into the left lane before making a complete right turn.

Question

If you are driving on a two lane road, where is it safest to drive your vehicle within the lane?

Answer

It is always safest to drive your vehicle in the center of the lane.  

Question

Why should you be cautious when driving on pavement when it begins to rain on a hot day?

Answer

You should be cautious because the road will be slippery due to oil in the asphalt. 

Question

What should you do if there are no reduced speed limit signs posted within work zones in Arkansas?

Answer

You should continue to obey the normal speed limit.

Question

What should you do in order to avoid heavy braking within the last-minute of turning within a city?

Answer

You should keep at least a city-block in view when driving. 

Question

If your car is hit from the side, which direction will your body be thrown?

Answer

You body will be thrown toward the side that was hit. 

Question

How many feet will you travel in ten seconds if you are traveling at 55 miles per hour?

Answer

You will travel 800 feet in ten seconds.

Question

You shouldn’t pass if you are how far away from a hill or curve?

Answer

You shouldn’t pass if you are within one-third of a mile from a hill or curve.

Question

What does a yellow, diamond-shaped sign with an arrow pointing up and another black line Extending to the right half way down the arrow indicate?

Answer

The sign warns about merging traffic up ahead. 

Question

Drivers must avoid driving in no-zones such as?

Answer

Drivers should avoid driving 20 feet in front of the cab of a truck, on either side of a tractor-trailer, and up to 200 feet in the rear of the trailer.  

 

Georgia Permit Practice Test

Georgia Permit Practice Test

You must be at least 15 years old to receive a permit in Georgia and take the permit practice test.  Even then, you may do so only with the permission of a parent or legal guardian.  Georgia also requires the parent authorizing the teenager applying for the learner’s permit to show a valid Georgia license or ID card.  If the parent does not have these things, proof of residency is required.  The applicant will also need to present either a US birth certificate or a valid immigration document.  Unlike other states, the Social Security Card is not required as the DMV will verify the SSN you provide through an online system when pairing it with your other personal information.  Children under 18 must also present a certificate of school attendance, or a high school diploma/equivalent.
Before you can take the practice permit test for Georgia, you must pay a fee of $10 by cash, credit or check.  This fee must be paid each time the test is taken and you must wait one day to retake the test if you fail the first time.  The permit received from Georgia is valid for 24 months and allows the permit holder to drive with a licensed driver over 21 years old supervising.  The practice permit test will measure the applicant’s knowledge of road rules and signs.
You will need to use the Georgia Department of Driver Services Driver’s Manual as your primary resource for passing the permit practice test for Georgia.  You will find this document online at the DDS website.
permit practice test Georgia/practice permit test Georgia

Hawaii Permit Practice Test

Hawaii Permit Practice Test

Unlike other states, process to apply for a permit or license in Hawaii is decentralized, with most of the responsibility in licensing and test going to Hawaii’s counties.  This is most likely due to the fact that Hawaii is made up of islands and having a centralized system in Honolulu would be somewhat inefficient.  The DMV locations will be based in Kaua’I, Honululu, Maui and Hawaii counties.

The fee to take the permit practice test is $2 and you will pay $5 to receive the permit.  All those that apply for an instruction permit must be at least 15.5 years old and have parental consent.  You must show a valid birth certificate and have notarized certification of parental consent before you may proceed to take the practice permit test for Hawaii.  There will also be a vision test to certify how well you can see and if you can operate a motor vehicle safely.

You will be able to find the driver’s manual for Hawaii through the poorly designed Hawaii Department of Transportation website by using the search function.  Alternatively, you may contact your County DMV location for instructions on how to acquire a digital or print copy this publication will be invaluable for passing the practice permit test in Hawaii.  Upon receiving the practice permit, you must complete driver’s education courses and pass the road test in order to earn a full Hawaii driver’s license.

permit practice test Hawaii/practice permit test Hawaii. If you need legal advice and assistance, contact Hawaii lawyers.

 

How to Buy A New Car

How to Buy A New Car

Car buying is a huge investment and one that will stay with the buyer for the long term.  When buying a new car, you will not have the same concerns about the reliability of the vehicle, as you would with a used car, buy you will need to consider the purpose of the car, your willingness to hang onto the car in the future and if you can afford the financing option.  You will need to expend adequate time and patience when buying a new car and by understanding all phases of the process, you will gain an important advantage not typically available to the average consumer.

What you will pay for the car
The Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price is by no means, what you will pay for the car.  Even when buying a new car, you will have to negotiate with the dealer regarding fees and will have to make decisions on purchasing service contracts and extended warranties.  An awareness of taxation laws in your state will also modify what you will pay for a car.  Do not expect the dealer to give you the most honest estimate on the long term cost of the car.  Only research with a number of excellent calculators to determine the costs of loans and leases will help you determine the viability of a financing agreement.  Be prepared to negotiate on the MSRP and be aware of fees that are not mandatory.  The savvy car buyer will be able to detect these not mandatory fees and have them dismissed before buying the new car.
Should I get the warranty?
There is no clear cut answer here.  You will need to decide if the warranty offered to you is consistent with your needs and will not substantially add to the cost of the car.  Determining if a warranty is in your interests will depend heavily on what costs the dealer will cover and how long the coverage will last.  

Financing involved when buying a car
You will face the choice of leasing versus buying a car.  You need to have all details of the leasing and loan offers in order to make an informed decision.  How you finance your new car purchase depends on your needs and intent for the car.  Leasing will carry heavy penalties for exceeding allotted mileage, making this arrangement not ideal for those with this particular need.  Those that intend to walk away from the car in a short period of time, typically three years, will prefer a lease as buying the car with a loan would leave you on the hook for the loan after you have decided to move on.  
You must be prepared for the financial obligations of buying a car.  This includes ensuring you will be able to make timely payments if you choose to finance.  Ensure you check the numbers on the financing agreement and that you are aware how interest will affect the principal you will owe to the dealer or salesperson.  Remember that the absence of a down payment does not necessarily work out in your favor as this is a greater principal that you will be paying interest on.
Fees involved in buying a car
Destination charge – cost to deliver the car from the factory to the dealership, is set by the manufacturer and the buyer will end up paying it.  Any other destination or delivery fee is unnecessary.  This destination charge is a mandatory fee that cannot be avoided.
Title and registration fees – if you require a new license plate for the vehicle, the dealer will charge you this fee, set by the state, to acquire it for you.  The fee is lower if you already have plates and want to transfer them to the new vehicle.  You must register the vehicle.
Documentation fee – this fee is charged for processing the paperwork related to acquiring and buying the car.  Many states cap this fee but other states where there are no limitations will have the he run into the hundreds of dollars.  Consider this when buying a car in another state.
Sales tax – even cars are subject to sales tax.  Buying the car in another state will subject you to your state’s sale tax once you register it in your state.  The dealer may help facilitate registering the vehicle in your state.
Advertising fees – this fee can be challenged if it is not immediately disclosed to you.  This is the charge that manufactures charge dealers for advertisement and some dealerships will try to pass it one to the consumer.
Guaranteed Auto Protection Insurance – if you are leasing, this fee covers the difference between your payments and the life of the lease if the car does not survive until the end of the lease.
Extended warranty/service contract – at your discretion, you may purchase additional protection for your vehicle.  Do so only if you determine this is to your advantage and that the conditions are fair to you.  Many drivers will never need their warranty but others have saved substantially because of it.
Just about any other fee that can be added to a vehicle can be disputed, challenged, or avoided.  Other fees and coverage can be had cheaper elsewhere.  All of these fees are the reason why it is important to read all of the terms related to buying or financing a car.
Why is a buyer’s guide important?
Any dealer that sells over six cars a year must provide a buyer’s guide that lists the terms and conditions of the purchase, the provisions of the warranty, and the rights of the purchaser as well as the obligations of the seller.  Even when buying a new car, it is important to check the buyer’s guide for information on potential defects as well as the terms of your arrangement with the seller.  It is important to note promises made in the buyer’s guide and that spoken promises are not enforceable.
How to buy a new car/buying a new car

Idaho Permit Practice Test

Idaho Permit Practice Test

The Idaho Transportation Department will administer the permit practice test and maintain all records related to licensing drivers in Idaho.  The minimum age to apply for a practice permit in Idaho is 15 and this individual must be a resident of Idaho and can prove they are in the US legally.  The individual must also be of sound mid and not have a history of “habitual drunkardness.”
Like other states, those applying for a practice permit in Idaho must bring identification that establishes their identity and legal residence in the United States.  In addition, those under 18 must present certification of school enrollment as well as proof of parental consent, usually through a waiver of liability.
The practice permit test for Idaho will be a written knowledge test that will measure the applicant’s knowledge of traffic laws, signs and vehicle safety.  This is in addition to the skills test which is a road test where the applicant’s ability to operate a motor vehicle will be assessed.  The fee for the permit practice in Idaho is $3.  The test consists of 40 questions and a score of 34/40 is required to pass.  Those that fail the test will be subject to a 3 day waiting period.
The Idaho driver’s manual is available in both English and Spanish and will provide you with details about the knowledge test, including all the information you need to know.  This publication is available from the Idaho Transportation Department website.
permit practice test Idaho/practice permit test Idaho

Indiana Permit Practice Test

Indiana Permit Practice Test

Those that are 15.5 years old and current enrolled in a driver’s education program may apply at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles for a learner’s permit.  You must have has a learner’s permit for 6 months and completed 50 hours of driving practice before you are eligible to take a road test and earn an Indian driver’s license.  To apply for the learner’s permit, you must present proof of school enrollment as well as proof of identity, social security number and Indiana residency.  There will also be a vision test to ensure you can operate a motor vehicle safely, with or without glasses.
The Driver’s Manual for Indiana will be your primary resource when preparing for the practice permit test in Indiana.  Each chapter of this manual is available for download at the BMV website.  Chapter 7 of the manual will contain sample questions that will be found on the practice permit test for Indiana.  The permit practice test for Indiana will consist of 16 sign identification questions and 34 multiple choice questions.  You may miss no more than 2 sign identifications and 6 multiple choice questions in order to pass the test.
After receiving the permit, those under the age of 18 may practice only with a licensed relative sitting in the passenger seat of the car.  Those that are over 18 are subject to the same requirement, but may have a licensed driver other than a relative in the passenger’s seat.
permit practice test Indiana/practice permit test Indiana

Iowa Permit Practice Test

Iowa Permit Practice Test

The Iowa Department of Transportation will administer the permit practice test and license drivers in the state of Iowa.  The practice permit in Iowa is the instruction permit and those that are under 18 can obtain this permit by providing a birth certificate, proof of residency, proof of identity and proof of Social Security.  Parental consent will also be required.  Once obtained, the Iowa instruction permit lasts four years and costs $6.

When applying for an instruction permit you will need to present either a birth certificate or official picture ID.  The applicant must be older than the age of 14.  You will also need a secondary ID to verify the first form of ID you use.  You will also need to display proof of a social security number and legal status in the United States.  The instruction permit may become a full license at the age of 17, provided the applicant passes the road test.

The Iowa Driver’s Manual is the best resource for passing the practice permit test in Iowa and can be downloaded in full or by chapter from the IDOT website.  In addition to a vision test, there will be a knowledge test on Iowa law on traffic signs and highway.  The larger locations to obtain a permit in Iowa will allow you to take the practice permit test for Iowa electronically.

permit practice test Iowa/practice permit test Iowa

 

Kansas Permit Practice Test

Kansas Permit Practice Test

The Kansas department of revenue is responsible for administering the permit practice test for Kansas as well as licensing drivers.  Teenagers as young as 14 may receive an instruction permit and most restrictions on licenses are removed at the age of 17.  The fee for a Kansas instruction permit is $8.
Licensed 14 year olds may drive if they are involved in farm work and 15 – 16 year olds may drive to school or work only.  Taking the permit practice test for Kansas will require parental permission for minors as well as proof of identity and Kansas residency.  Instruction permits are valid for up to one year and the bearer may operate a motor vehicle provided that an adult with a Class A, B, or C license and one year of driving experience is seated next to them in the passenger seat.
There will be a vision screening to ensure that with or without corrective lenses, you have the ability to operate the motor vehicle safely.  Those that fail to pass this test will need to have their eyes examined before they may proceed to the written practice permit test for Kansas.
The permit practice test will consist of questions about traffic laws, as well as identifying road signs by shape and color.  You will use the Kansas driving handbook, which is available at the ksrevenue.org website to prepare for the written test as all the necessary information is contained there.
permit practice test Kansas/practice permit test Kansas

Kentucky Permit Practice Test

Kentucky Permit Practice Test

In order to apply for a permit in Kentucky, you must be at least 16 years old and obtain parental consent.  The Kentucky State Police will administer the requisite testing to determine if an individual can be issued a Kentucky license.  A birth certificate, social security card and proof of address are all necessary in the application process before taking the vision test or the practice permit test in Kentucky.
The written test is available in over twenty different languages, but in order to receive a license, the individual being tested must understand English commands and be able to read road signs.  The permit holder must have had practiced 60 hours before taking the road test, including 10 hours of driving at night.  180 days will have had to elapse between getting the permit and taking the road test for those under the age of 21.
The Kentucky Driver Manual will be your primary resource for passing the practice permit test for Kentucky.  You are allowed six tries to pass the practice permit test for Kentucky before being deferred for six months.  The test will measure knowledge of traffic laws, regulations and highway signs.  You must score 80% of better to pass this test.  The test will be given orally for those that are illiterate in English but any questions related to identifying signs will be completed on the testing sheet.
permit practice test Kentucky/practice permit test Kentucky
Advertisement